Clerodendrum splendens

Clerodendrum-splendens

Clerodendrum splendens (glory tree, flaming glorybower) is a species of flowering plant in the genus Clerodendrum of the family Lamiaceae, native to tropical Western Africa. It is a twining evergreen climber, growing to 3 metres (9.8 ft) or more, with panicles of brilliant scarlet flowers in summer. With a minimum temperature of 10 °C (50 °F),[2] it requires the protection of glass during the winter months in most temperate regions. Wikipedia

(With the opening of my new Cornish blog I have decided to  abandon the 60mm macro site and will in future post on the site I consider the most appropriate. I thank those people who followed me here and hope to see you on the other sites.)

17 thoughts on “Clerodendrum splendens

  1. What a gorgeous beauty Jude and I love the angle you took it from with the soft DOF. Excellent capture and thanks for the info. I adore climbers! 😀

    1. My new camera is very accomplished at capturing that lovely soft background. I hope to find some beauties this year now that lots of gardens are open once again.

      1. Lucky girl! Maybe one day I will be lucky as well to own a DSLR with a telephoto and macro lens. In the meantime, enjoy yours and I am glad you can show us this awesome beauty through your lens. 😀

        I am totally sure you will. You are so good at catching the beauty around you. 😀 ♥

      2. It’s not a DSLR Sonel, but a lightweight mirrorless Olympus, but I do have a few lenses (no telephoto). Saved up for years for one and now I just need to learn how to use it properly 😀

      3. That’s awesome! I wouldn’t mind having the mirrorless Fuji X100S or the Fuji X-T1. I’ve heard thought that the mirrorless cameras are a bit heavy on battery life. Is that true? Also that they mirrorless is much lighter than a DSLR. But all in all, I think we all choose what we think will fit what we like to shoot. I do prefer macro’s and close-ups. Love this tech today and digital is just awesome!

        That is so cool and I know you’ll learn fast. Can’t wait to see more of your stunning shots. 😀

      4. Definitely lighter, even with all the lenses I have (4) the bag is lighter than my bridge camera was. The battery lasts me fine. I haven’t felt the need to buy a spare yet, though I might in the future. I really wanted a proper macro lens so it was the only way to go. But I love the prime lens too 45mm and very fast. And my little zoom lens is as flat as a pancake 🙂 I looked at the Fuji too as I have always had Fuji cameras and loved them, but the Olympus won.

      5. That is awesome and I am glad to hear about the battery life. I tend to listen more to personal experiences than what I read online, so it’s always great to get it from someone who does know what is going on.

        It sounds like a great camera and if I look at new cameras, I will also take a look at the Olympus. Always good to shop around. Thanks for the great info. 😀 ♥

    1. I have Pete. Ii should take them down and put them on the flower blog. Once I started the Cornish one I figured there were too many blogs and the macros could go wherever was appropriate. What brought you here then?

Let's start a conversation

